Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In


​​​​Ordinaries are the leaders of the local See.  

If the See is a diocese, the leader is a bishop; leaders of archdioceses are called archbishops.


​​​​​Portrait of Bishop Michael PowerPortrait of Bishop ​Armand F.M. de CharbonnelPortrait of Archbishop ​John J. Lynch C.M.Portrait of Archbishop John Walsh
Michael Power
Bishop 1842-1847
Armand F.M. de Charbonnel
Bishop 1850-1860​

John J. Lynch C.M.
Bishop 1860-1870; 
Archbishop 1870-1888​
John Walsh
Archbishop 1889-1898
Portrait of Archbishop Denis O'Connor C.S.B.Portrait of Archbishop Fergus McEvayPortrait of Archbishop Neil McNeilPortrait of Archbishop James Cardinal McGuigan
Denis O’Connor C.S.B.
Archbishop 1899-1908
Fergus McEvay
Archbishop 1908-1911
Neil McNeil
Archbishop 1912-1934
James C. Cardinal McGuigan
Archbishop 1934-1971

Portrait of Archbishop Philip F. PocockPortrait of Archbishop G. Emmett Cardinal CarterPortrait of Archbishop Aloysius Cardinal AmbrozicPortrait of Archbishop Thomas Cardinal Collilns
​​Philip F. Pocock
Archbishop 1971-1978
G. Emmett Cardinal Carter
Archbishop 1978-1990
Aloysius M. Cardinal Ambrozic
Archbishop 1990-2006​
Thomas C. Cardinal Collins