Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In
print share

Past Ordinaries

​​​​Ordinaries are the leaders of the local See, or eccleiastical juristiction.  

If the See is a diocese, the leader is a bishop; the leader of an archdioceses is an archbishop.

Michael Power
Bishop 1841-1847

Armand de Charbonnel
Bishop 1850-1860​
John Lynch
Bishop 1860-1870 
Archbishop 1870-1888​

John Walsh
Archbishop 1889-1898

Denis O’Connor
Archbishop 1899-1908

​​F. Patrick McEvay
Archbishop 1908-1911

Neil McNeil
Archbishop 1912-1934

James Cardinal McGuigan
Archbishop 1934-1971

​​​Philip Pocock
Archbishop 1971-1978

G. Emmett Cardinal Carter
Archbishop 1978-1990

Aloysius Cardinal Ambrozic
Archbishop 1990-2006​